Fuck “Client”

I don’t use the term client. It is insulting to the artist.

My reasoning is deeply routed in my recording philosophy.

A client is often associated and equated with money. Although I am often paid directly by the artists I work with, I don’t think of them as “money”. They are creative individuals who are gracing me with the privilege of working with them. If not for their music, it would be difficult to feed my recording habit.

If you are looking at your core audience as a dollar sign, it is time to rethink your state of mind. How would your audience interact with you if you made their involvement in your music the priority? What if you stopped thinking about “how many copies of this CD can I Sell?” and focused that energy on giving more to your current audience?

Apple does not care about converting new people into Ipod users. They care about being the best at catering to their current Ipod users. The ipod users will talk to their friends and the ipod user pool with grow.

Simple as that.

You could be doing the same thing with your music. Being the best “insert your name” is a better plan than being a bigger “insert your name”.

Leave a comment